Event: Business of Handmade Study Group

The “Business of Handmade” research explores the relationship between the informal economy and the cultural economy by studying 12 creative and social enterprises working in India’s artisan sector. Join our “Study Group” as we take three deep dives into the research, and discuss its findings through topical areas: co-creation and intellectual property, new rules of entrepreneurship, and “the new formal.” With expert guests, each event will be co-hosted on Zoom by Priya Krishnamoorthy, Founder, 200 Million Artisans, Cynthia Lawson Jaramillo, Director, DEED Lab, and expert guests, after which the dialogue will continue on the @DEEDLab’s Instagram account.

For additional details and to register click here:

  • Friday, November 5, 2021: Co-creation and Intellectual Property
    7:30 p.m. New Delhi | 2:00 p.m. London | 10:00 a.m. NYC
  • Friday, November 12, 2021: New Rules of Entrepreneurship
    7:30 p.m. New Delhi | 2:00 p.m. London | 9:00 a.m. NYC
  • Friday, November 19, 2021: The New Formal
    7:30 p.m. New Delhi | 2:00 p.m. London | 9:00 a.m. NYC

“Business of Handmade: The Role of Craft-Based Enterprises in ‘Formalising’ India’s Artisan economy” was produced by 200 Million Artisans, and commissioned by the British Council UK and the Creative Industries Policy & Evidence Centre (PEC) UK led by Nesta to map the informal cultural economy in India. DEED Lab is a Knowledge Partner.

Share

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Research Assistant: Aabhira Aditya

DEED is proud to welcome our new research assistant, Aabhira Aditya, to our team. Aabhira worked as a Product Designer after graduating from the National Institute of Fashion Technology in

Read More »

Communities of _________

NOTE: This symposium was postponed due to Hurricane Sandy. Stay tuned for the new date, for sometime in the spring semester (most likely towards the end of February.) DEED started

Read More »
Categories

Related Posts

Research Assistant: Aabhira Aditya

DEED is proud to welcome our new research assistant, Aabhira Aditya, to our team. Aabhira worked as a Product Designer after graduating from the National Institute of Fashion Technology in

Read More »

DEED Logo 2.0

So, what do you all think about our new logo? This one, an iteration on Grace Salem’s version from 2008, is courtesy of the very talented?Madhav Tankha. We wanted to

Read More »

Communities of _________

NOTE: This symposium was postponed due to Hurricane Sandy. Stay tuned for the new date, for sometime in the spring semester (most likely towards the end of February.) DEED started

Read More »